Comeback / Guides

Shopify returns app pricing compared: free plans, caps and per-return fees

What 10 Shopify returns apps charge per their App Store listings on 1 October 2026: free plans, included volume, per-return fees, where Comeback costs more.

Coming to the Shopify App Store

Short answer: most Shopify returns apps price by volume. A plan includes a number of returns or requests a month, and above that number you either pay a fee for each extra one or move up a plan. A few apps work differently: one has a free returns plan with no cap stated on its listing, one has a free plan that the shopper pays for, one lists its paid tiers without any cap, and one has a top tier with unlimited requests. The table below shows what 10 returns and exchanges apps list on their Shopify App Store pages, read on 1 October 2026, with Comeback's own planned prices as a reference row.

We make Comeback, one of the apps in this comparison, so read it with that in mind. Every figure comes from the app's own public listing, and the section "Where Comeback costs more" is there on purpose.

Four ways returns apps charge

  1. Included volume plus a fee per extra return. A plan covers a set number of returns or requests a month; each one above it costs a fixed amount, typically between $0.20 and $1.25 on the listings we read. Your bill grows with a busy month.
  2. A free plan with a small cap. Several apps offer a free plan with 5 or 6 requests or returns (a month on most listings). Return Prime still charges per extra request on its free plan.
  3. Flat tiers with no cap stated. One listing (Loop) shows a monthly price per tier and no included volume at all. That can mean there is no cap, or that the limits are set elsewhere, such as on the vendor's own pricing page or in a contract. The listing alone doesn't tell you which.
  4. Shopper-funded. The merchant pays nothing and the shopper pays for their own return, with the app taking a share. That isn't the same kind of "free" as a merchant-side free plan, so we list it separately.

The table

Each app counts in its own unit: some count "returns", others "requests" or "return requests". A request that you later decline may count toward one app's limit and not another's, so the numbers aren't perfectly like for like. The unit column uses each vendor's own word.

App Free plan Lowest paid plan Highest listed plan Above the included volume Unit
AfterShip Returns & Exchanges Free, but shopper-funded (the shopper pays for the return; AfterShip takes a revenue share) $19/mo, 20 returns $119/mo, 100 returns $0.50 or $1 per extra return, by plan returns
Redo Free returns plan, no cap stated on the listing No paid returns plan No paid returns plan None stated not stated
Return Prime Free to install, 5 requests $19.99/mo, 60 requests $149.99/mo, 450+ requests $0.49 per extra request ($0.79 on one tier), free plan included requests
CWILL Returns & Exchanges Free, 6 returns a month $29/mo, 50 returns $299/mo, 500 returns $0.45 per extra return returns
Loop Returns & Exchanges Free plan bundled with US and Canada domestic return labels, not a volume-capped plan $155/mo $340/mo Not stated on the listing not stated
ReturnGO None $147/mo, 110 returns $297/mo, 300 returns $1.25 or $0.90 per extra return, by plan returns
Rich Returns & Exchanges None $19/mo, 10 returns $199/mo, 500+ returns $1, $0.75 or $0.50 per extra return, by plan (not stated for Enterprise Plus) returns
8returns None $109/mo, 100 returns $989/mo, 2,000 returns $0.99, $0.45 or $0.40 per extra return, by plan returns
Yanet Returns & Exchanges Free, 6 requests a month $9.99/mo, 80 requests $29.99/mo, unlimited requests $0.20 per extra request on the $9.99 plan requests
Synctrack Returns & Exchanges Free, 5 return requests a month $19.99/mo, 60 return requests $149.99/mo, 300 return requests Not stated on the listing return requests
Comeback (planned launch pricing) Free, 10 auto-approved requests a month $19/mo, 100 auto-approved requests $99/mo, 2,000 auto-approved requests No fee: extra requests wait for your review instead requests

Prices are in US dollars per month as each listing shows them, before any annual discount. Where a listing shows a yearly price, it is 16 to 21% below twelve monthly payments on the listings we read; Comeback's yearly price is 10 times the monthly price. Free trials range from 7 to 30 days across these listings.

How to read the "above the included volume" column

This column decides what a busy month costs. Take an app with a $19 plan for 20 returns and $0.50 per extra return: a month with 60 returns adds 40 × $0.50 = $20, so the bill is $39. The same month on a plan with no overage fee costs the plan price, but it only works if what happens above the cap suits you: on Comeback, requests above your plan's number aren't approved automatically. They wait in your queue until you approve them, and nothing is added to your bill.

Where the listing states no fee, as for Loop's paid tiers and all of Synctrack's, ask the vendor before you rely on it. "Not stated on the listing" is not the same as "no fee".

Where Comeback costs more, and where it costs less

  • Redo's returns plan is free, with no cap stated on its listing. As listed, that is cheaper than every paid Comeback plan. Comeback Free also costs $0 but approves only 10 requests a month automatically; the listing doesn't say whether Redo has a limit.
  • Yanet is cheaper in two places. Its Professional plan is $9.99 a month for 80 requests plus $0.20 per extra request, which stays below Comeback Starter's $19 up to about 125 requests a month. Its Ultimate plan is $29.99 a month for unlimited requests, which is cheaper than Comeback Growth ($49, 400 auto-approved requests) and Pro ($99, 2,000). Comeback Starter stays at $19 at any volume, but only the first 100 requests a month are approved automatically; the rest wait for your review.
  • Other entry prices are the same or close. AfterShip and Rich Returns start at $19, the same as Comeback Starter, and Return Prime and Synctrack at $19.99.
  • Free plans are close. Return Prime and Synctrack include 5, CWILL and Yanet 6, and Comeback 10. Return Prime charges for extra requests on its free plan; Comeback doesn't charge on any plan.
  • Where Comeback costs less: against apps that charge per extra return, in a month with more returns than your plan includes. Comeback never charges per return, per seat or for overages, so a busy December costs the same as a quiet February. The trade-off is the manual review above the cap.

Comeback isn't on the Shopify App Store yet, so its prices are planned launch pricing, and some things other apps on this list do, such as return shipping for the shopper, Comeback doesn't do at launch. See pricing for what each Comeback plan includes.

Questions to ask any returns app before you install

  • What counts toward the monthly number: every request, or only approved and completed returns?
  • What happens above it: a fee per return, a blocked portal, or a queue?
  • Is the free plan paid by you or by your shoppers?
  • Are exchanges, store credit and a bonus on store credit in the plan you're looking at, or only in a higher one?
  • If you sell to the EU, does the app offer the withdrawal function the EU rule asks for, and does it work for guest orders? See our guide to the EU withdrawal button for guest orders.

Sources and method

We read the pricing section of each app's public Shopify App Store listing on 1 October 2026, without signing up or starting a trial. The 10 apps are the returns and exchanges apps we profiled in our competitor research of 24 and 25 September 2026, chosen mainly by the number of reviews on their listings. Prices change: check the linked listing before you decide. If a figure here is wrong or out of date, tell us at support@tansolutions.org and we'll correct it.